The Descrated Cover.jpg

An ancient curse. A haunted morgue. Boneless corpses and missing bodies. Gruesome murders and centuries-old mysteries. And a complex young woman with a dark, painful past, determined to get to the bottom of it all.

 

After the death of her father, troubled pre-med student Jennifer Shelby can no longer pay her tuition. Forced to drop out, she lands a night job at the New York City Morgue, as a way to pay the rent and quietly figure out her next move. Her sanctuary of silence among the dead is unexpectedly shattered by Trevor Pryce, an English heartthrob movie star and notorious tabloid bad boy, recently sentenced to community service... at the morgue. Trevor’s reckless behavior and disrespect for the dead unleashes a centuries-old curse that causes the already haunted morgue to erupt in a unearthly spectacle of carnage and terror, revealing deeply hidden secrets from which Jennifer must save them both. In the process, she discovers the true source of the morgue’s hauntings…as well as her own.

 

THE DESECRATED is a fresh, fast paced, twisty supernatural thriller novel by award- winning filmmaker and creator of the wildly popular hit TV series GHOST WHISPERER, John Gray. 

 

Watch a terrifying 7 minute scene from

THE DESECRATED!

 
 

IN THE PRESS

“John Gray’s THE DESECRATED is a spine-tingling page-turner.”

“Suspense and horror fans will love this deeply atmospheric, totally spine-tingling thriller that twists and turns its way to a shocking end!”

“A realistic look at the darker side of human nature … compelling horror story …”

Harlan Coben,

#1 NY Times

bestselling author

Lisa Gardner,

NY Times

bestselling author of

One Step Too Far

Kirkus Reviews

"John Gray announces himself as a major voice in modern literary horror with his debut novel, The Desecrated.  Surgically precise suspense, breakneck pacing, and a brilliant narrative arc that gets under the reader's skin are all in full force here. A remarkable debut, and highly recommended."

Jay Bonansinga,

The New York Times bestselling author of The Walking Dead: The Rise of the Governor

“The writing is both spare and rich – a character-driven horror/crime thriller.”

James P. Blaylock, World Fantasy Award-Winning Author, Co-Founder of the Modern Steampunk Genre

“A must-read paranormal thriller filled with exhilarating action, ancient magic and historical fantasy. Fans of James Rollins and Dan Brown may find a favorite new voice in John Gray.”

BestThrillers.com

 

BIO

JohnGrayPhotobyMelissaJoPeltier.jpeg

Brooklyn born John Gray is an award-winning writer-director-producer of films and television, and the creator of the long running TV series, Ghost Whisperer. He has written and directed many feature films and movies for television, including White Irish Drinkers, starring Stephen Lang and Karen Allen; Martin And Lewis, starring Sean Hayes and Jeremy Northam; the Emmy® nominated A Place For Annie, with Sissy Spacek; the Emmy® nominated mini-series Haven with Natasha Richardson and Anne Bancroft; Helter Skelter, and many others.

Gray has directed numerous episodes of broadcast and cable series, including multiple episodes of the NBC series GRIMM and was also the producing director of the CBS series RECKLESS. Gray’s acclaimed short films have played and are currently playing in film festivals all over the world including FRENCH KISS, which has also notched 6.3 million views to date on YouTube. He is married to writer-filmmaker Melissa Jo Peltier, and they make their home in New York and Cape Cod, MA. The Desecrated is his debut novel. Follow him on Twitter @JThomasGray, or Instagram @bayrdge

 

Events

Nyack Library Author Talk with John Gray

​September 28, 2022, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

The Nyack Library
59 South Broadway
Nyack, NY 10960

For more information and to Register for the event:

Please visit Events Calendar - The Nyack Library

 

PAST EVENTS …

Book Signing event for THE DESECRATED

SATURDAY, AUGUST 6, 2022

1:00-3:00 PM

Barnes & Noble

The Palisades Center

4416 Palisades Center Drive

West Nyack, NY 10994

AND

Past Events | Book Carnival (annesbookcarnival.com)

Book Carnival Virtual Event

August 16, 5:30 P.M. PT 

John Gray
THE DESECRATED

News & Interviews

The Brett Allen Show

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/writer-john-gray-discusses-his-new-book-the/id1486122533?i=1000579219567

BestThrillers.com

https://bestthrillers.com/the-desecrated-a-must-read-paranormal-thriller-by-john-gray/

The Big Thrill Magazine Sept 2022 issue

https://www.thebigthrill.org/2022/08/the-desecrated-by-john-gray/

The Neil Haley Show 07-28-2022 - Spreaker

​Today on The Neil Haley Show, Neil and Greg Hanna will interview director John Gray

Ross Crystal Showbiz UpFront

Showbiz UpFront | Podcast on Spotify

 https://www.lohud.com/story/life/2022/07/26/top-summer-books-levon-helm-hauntings-morgue-dolly-parton/65374756007/

The Journal News

John Gray, Author  &  Creator of Ghost Whisperer! - YouTube

Inside the Crazy Ant Farm Interview

Film Courage Interview

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9kKyhR_vPhA&t=0s

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=16_oW7ErUOk

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=C1CafpKDt3Q

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SBVkbf8WYHM&t=66s

A Closer Look with Pam Atherton

Ghost Whisperer Creator John Gray on his Book The Desecrated

On Screen & Beyond has Director, Writer, Producer John Gray as our guest.

https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/on-screen-beyond/id267196140

 

Talk Louisiana : NPR

Tuesday, July 12th: John Gray

Writer, Director, Producer and Author John Gray talks his debut novel "The Desecrated

 

The Desecrated Announcement

https://www.einnews.com/pr_news/578169278/supernatural-thriller-the-desecrated-debut-novel-by-john-gray